CultureFriday 05.13.22

Kendrick Lamar says he has about 500 unreleased songs on a hard drive he has been trying to fix.

Kendrick Lamar released his fifth solo album, Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers today.

The 18-track album is the final project with Top Dawg and features artists like Kodak Black, Baby Keem, Ghostface Killah, and Summer Walker along with singers Sampha and Beth Gibbons of Portishead.

The 34-year-old’s last solo studio album was Damn released in 2017.

Lamar stopped by Power 106’s Big Boy Neighborhood recently to discuss his last album Damn, the original album name for it, his music, and his relationships.

When host Big Boy asked how many unreleased songs Lamar had in his head, the rapper claimed that he had a hard drive with around 500 unreleased songs in it. Those songs could not be recovered, though Lamar took the hard drive to San Francisco to get it fixed.

Prior to dropping the album today, Lamar released a new song, The Heart Part 5, earlier this month with a deep fake video featuring some controversial Black men like Kayne West, Jussie Smollet, and Will Smith to name some. The track does not feature in his latest album.



Recount Wire