recountlogo
Recap 2020
John Heilemann’s weekly breakdown of the 2020 campaign trail
Sunday, 04.05.2020

Pandemic Reshuffles 2020 Landscape

The coronavirus pandemic continued to realign the presidential race this week, delaying Democrats' summer convention and foreshadowing a bruising fight over voting rights in the fall.

The coronavirus pandemic continued to realign the presidential race this week, delaying Democrats' summer convention and foreshadowing a bruising fight over voting rights in the fall.
2:04
Sunday, 04.05.2020
Pandemic Reshuffles 2020 Landscape
MORE EPISODES
With the coronavirus pandemic continuing to upend the presidential race, the candidates moved to a split-screen campaign this week — delivering two messages for two Americas.
2:19
Saturday, 03.28.2020
Coronavirus Split-Screen: Pandemic Sends Candidates Toward Collision
With Joe Biden conquering another round of primaries, the nomination fight feels closer than ever to finish. But the coronavirus panic is threatening to throw the whole election into uncharted territory.
4:59
Saturday, 03.14.2020
Biden Dominates as Coronavirus Upends Race
Super Tuesday came, saw, and conquered most of the Democratic field this week, as the nomination contest rapidly shrank to its two final contenders — but maybe not for long.
4:48
Saturday, 03.07.2020
Dems Face New Landscape and New Frontrunner
With the Nevada caucuses fast approaching, the candidates tried their luck in Vegas this week, delivering the most fiery debate yet -- and setting the stage for an even bloodier clash moving forward.
4:58
Saturday, 02.22.2020
Dems Give Bloomberg Sizzling Vegas Welcome
As we hurdle toward Super Tuesday, two scenarios become increasingly likely to play out among the Democrats.
4:15
Saturday, 02.15.2020
The Bloomberg Factor
4:59
Saturday, 02.08.2020
Caucus Chaos Puts Biden Under Pressure
4:59
Saturday, 02.01.2020
Dems Panic Over Bernie as Iowa Arrives
4:56
Saturday, 01.25.2020
Bernie’s Brawls Place Target on His Back
4:59
Saturday, 01.18.2020
Warren-Sanders Feud Leaves Opening in Iowa
In the wake of General Soleimani’s death, Dems have spent the first week of 2020 seeking to establish their foreign policy bona fides. And with the new year comes a new frontrunner — understand Bernie’s boomlet in an all-new Recap 2020.
4:56
Saturday, 01.11.2020
Dems Maneuver The Middle East While Bernie Booms
Picture this: a contested 2020 Democratic National Convention. It could be in the cards if you consider the patterns of Michael Bloomberg's record-setting campaign spending. Understand the all-out ad-blitz strategy put into practice by the two billionaire Democratic candidates in this week's Recap 2020.
4:49
Friday, 12.20.2019
Dems Throw Punches While Bloomberg Throws Cash
With Kamala Harris's exit, an awkward reality dawned on Democratic leaders: The cast of the December debate is shaping up to be all-white. That reality, in turn, sparked a wider unease with how the party has handled the debates… John Heilemann is analyzing this and more in Recap 2020.
4:31
Friday, 12.06.2019
As Kamala Exits, Dems Ponder Debates' Legacy
4:56
Saturday, 11.23.2019
Dems Heed Obama's Call
4:36
Friday, 11.08.2019
Biden's Barbs, Impeachment Blues and Bloomberg's Bombshell
4:58
Sunday, 11.03.2019
Des Moines Demapalooza
4:43
Friday, 10.25.2019
Dems Don't Need a White Knight
4:30
Friday, 10.18.2019
The Buttigieg Breakout
Elizabeth Warren pulls ahead in polls, but as she learned this week, her frontrunner status bears a lot of baggage — something she has carried with ease thus far
4:34
Friday, 10.11.2019
A New Unofficial Yet Unequivocal Dem Frontrunner
The Democratic field exited summer campaign season, marked by the announcement of third quarter fundraising totals — a key measure of strength heading into the Fall
4:58
Saturday, 10.05.2019
Campaign Cash Gives Candidates Gut-Check as Biden Strikes Back at Trump
Could the impeachment inquiry signal a freeze in the democratic presidential field?
4:38
Saturday, 09.28.2019
Polls, Impeachment Signal New Era in Democrats' Battle
Now or Never: Heilemann also breaks down the growing pressure on middling candidates to make a move
3:58
Friday, 09.20.2019
Kamala’s Retreat From the Top Tier
Dems duked it out over health care but ultimately stayed united
4:53
Friday, 09.13.2019
Dems Remember to Embrace Obama, Attack Trump
Why the 2020 Dems are right to go big on climate change — but carefully
4:59
Friday, 09.06.2019
The Climate Change Conundrum
How one screwy poll dominated political news this week—and the lessons for voters, the media … and Team Biden
3:45
Friday, 08.30.2019
The Outlier Problem
The Democratic frontrunner's lead is all about the perception that he's the best bet against Trump, but is he suffering from an enthusiasm deficit?
3:46
Friday, 08.23.2019
Biden Sells Electability and Democrats Are Buying—For Now
The former Georgia gubernatorial candidate isn't running for president, but that doesn't mean she isn't aiming for national office
4:43
Friday, 08.16.2019
Stacey Abrams Enters The Race … For VP
John Heilemann's One Big Thing from the campaign trail this week: the rhetorical escalation tying Trump directly to white nationalist violence in the wake of El Paso and Dayton.
4:16
Friday, 08.09.2019
Democratic Hopefuls Hammer Trump As Full-On White Supremacist
Here's the second edition of Recap 2020, our weekly review of the happenings on the Democratic presidential campaign trail.
4:26
Friday, 08.02.2019
Recap 2020 8.2.2019